Portals: Small Works National Juried Exhibition
Exhibit dates: November 30, 2019 - January 20, 2020
Opening Reception & Awards: Saturday, November 30, from 6-8pm.
Juror: Franklin Hill Perrell - art historian, curator, writer.

About the Portals Exhibition:
Our seventh annual national juried Small Works exhibition will feature 60+ works depicting physical Portals - windows, doors, and gateways. Traditional and alternative photography, paintings, photographic based and mixed media works will be on exhibit from national artists representing 22 states. All works will be affordably framed 12x12 inches or smaller.

About the Juror: Franklin Hill Perrell
A known art historian, curator, and writer, Franklin Hill Perrell's career as Chief Curator at the Nassau County Museum of Art in Roslyn Harbor, New York spanned over twenty years having curated or co-curated over fifty major exhibitions including Miro & Calder, Chagall, Picasso, School of Paris, Pop & Op, and Surrealism, among others.  After the museum, as Executive Director of the Roslyn Landmark Society, Perrell was responsible for overseeing the preservation efforts for landmarked houses in the historic district and the rescue of endangered art and architecture. 

Presently, as co-founder of Artful Circle, Perrell and business partner Debbie Wells provide museum services including curatorial, catalogue writing, public programming, lectures and gallery visits for clients in the art community.  Recent curatorial exhibitions include Hunt Slonem’s Eden Never Ends, Feast for the Eyes, and Long Island Collects, among others at the Nassau County Museum of Art, as well as, a retrospective of Richard Gachot’s America at the Heckscher Museum in Huntington, NY. In addition, Perrell’s comprehensive essay was published in the Hyperrealist Sculpture catalogue at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Bilbao.  Perrell serves on the Board of Trustees of the Heckscher Museum and the National Gallery of Bermuda in Hamilton.

Congratulations to the selected artists of the Portals Exhibition:


Virginia Aschmoneit
Robert Atwater
Deborah Babin
John Bayza
Ennid Berger
Michael Bullock
Alexandria Canchola
Alisa Clark
Anahi DeCanio
Laura Dodson
Amy Evans
Gina Gaiser
Danielle Garza
Raymond Germann
Richard Greene

Janis Hurley
Andy Ilachinski
Clive Knights
John Lazzaro
Charles Lembo
Katherine Liepe-Levinson
Dick Lopez
Paul Malinowski
John Manno
Loretta, Marcus
Kathleen Massi
Mike McLaughlin
Margaret Minardi
Howard Pohl
Rani Robison

Jim Sabiston
Angela Savoy
Carmen Schaefer
Steven Schreiber
Gary Schwartz
James Slezak
Harriet Stark
Ty Stroudsburg
Joanna Stuart
Pamela Waldroup
Xan Walker
Marlene Weinstein
Marisa White
Pat Yancovitz